The Rise and Fall of King David

** Audio can take a minute or two to load, please press play and be patient **


The Old Testament is full of people - real people; whose lives are messy, their families dysfunctional and their obedience not always full or immediate, yet God used them.  Our study of their lives is to bring perspective, hope and instruction to ours - to recognise that at times we are tempted to sanitise or selectively interact with their stories and in that way make them heroes.  The reality is that their stories are powerful because they are human like us and face the same temptations and frailty that we do - yet God used them.

We know more about David than we know about any other character in the Old Testament, and Murray breaks down the whole story into six episodes:

  1. The boy wonder (1 Samuel 17:45-47)
  2. David and Jonathon (1 Samuel 18:1-4)
  3. David and Saul (1 Samuel 18:6-9, 26:7-11)
  4. Bathsheba and Uriah (1 Samuel 11:2-5, 14-15, 12:7-10)
  5. Absalom's rebellion (1 Samuel 14:25, 15:1-6, 13-14, 18:9-10)
  6. How not to finish well (1 Kings 1:1-4, 2:1-9)